It was a great season by just about any assessment for West Rusk High School diamond sports, and now both baseball and softball Raiders are seeing some honors come in.

Both baseball and softball in District 16-3A have released their all-district teams, chosen exclusively by the coaches.

In softball’s 16-3A all-district honors, West Rusk’s Lilly Waddell was named pitcher of the year, and teammate Piper Morton was named newcomer of the year. Another one: Amber Cothran of the Lady Raiders was named utility player of the year for a WR team that had its best success on the field in years.

Troup’s Lindsay Davis was named most valuable player in the district, and Elysian Fields’ Kailyn Clynch was named catcher of the year. Elysian Fields’ Mary Frances Ellis and Troup’s Mia Beason were named co-defensive player(s) of the year. Troup’s Baily Blanton was named most valuable offensive player, and the Tigers’ Sam Weeks was named coach of the year.

West Rusk infielder Macie Blizzard was named first-team all-district and teammates Jamie Casey (designated hitter), Faith Cochran (flex), Natalie Christy (outfield) and Kaelyn King (outfield) were named second-team all-district.

Lady Raiders on the honorable mention list: Stormie LeJeune (infield) and Krysten Price (infield).

Making academic all-district for West Rusk were Piper Morton, Faith Cochran, Jaimie Jose, Krysten Price, Lilly Waddell, Remi Norman, Stormie LeJeune, and Kaylyn King.

Joining WR players on first-team all-district: Elysian Fields’ Jessica Guilhaus, Christen Smith, and Corrisa McPhail; Arp’s Paige Laird; Tatum’s Rebeka Stockton and Paisley Williams; Harleton’s Holland Alsobrook; Jefferson’s JaKayla Rusk and Tierrani Johnson; Waskom’s MaKayla Jeter; and Troup’s Haylee Priest, Maddy Griffin; Karsyn Williamson and Jessie Minnix.

Also on second-team all-district: Tatum’s Mia Tovar and Anna Halton, Waskom’s Skie Middlebrook and Morgan Deen; Jefferson’s Tawny Foster; Harleton’s Kailey Wright, Chloe Copeland and Laycee McGuffie; Elysian Fields’ Cora Creech; and Troup’s Sarah Neel.

Joining West Rusk players on the honorable mention list: Troup’s Tara Wells, Chloie Haugeberg and Morgan Parrish; Elysian Fields’ Trista Bell, Morgan Shaw and Bryanne Beavers; Tatum’s TaKayla Bradley, Savannah McGuire, Baylea Densman, Trinity Edwards, Tamya Garrett and Maritza Quintero; Harelton’s Karlee Cochran, Haley Hopkins, Katie Holliday, Ashanti Johnson, Lexi Dominguez and Chloe Walker; Arp’s Abby Carpenter, Kyia Horton, Ariana Padron and Halie Laird; Waskom’s Tristen Riley, Catherine Bailey, Ellen Nuner, Alex Jones and Anna Claire Reeves; and Jefferson’s Avery Keller.

Joining West Rusk players on the academic all-district list were Troup’s Mia Beason, Bailey Blanton, Lindsay Davis, Raegan Derrick, Sydnie Dickey, Aubrey Griffin, Maddy Griffin, Chloie Haugeberg, Jessie Minnix, Kayla Moellendorf, Sarah Neel, Morgan Parrish, Haylee Priest, Tara Wells, Karsyn Williamson, Jaycee Eastman, and Katelyn Carter; Tatum’s Emma Wiley, Paisley Williams, Baylea Densman, Trinity Edwards, Savannah McGuire, Breannica Kirkwood, Maritza Quintero, and Jediah Nelson; Elysian Fields’ Bryanne Beavers, Trista Bell, Kailyn Clynch, Kya Cox, Cora Creech, Mary Frances Ellis, Ruth Galles, Jessica Guilhas, Kaylee Kelly, Carmen Lawless, Baylee Marcum, Corrisa McPhail, Kelsey O’Brien, Morgan Shaw, Christen Smith, and Kyndal Youngblood; Arp’s Abby Carpenter, Jasmine Cavazos, Sydne Garrett, Kyla Horton, Paige Laird, Abby Nichols, Ariana Padron, Kate Paz, Lucy Rodriguez, and Crimson Phipps.

Baseball all-district: The Raiders didn’t get a superlative on the District 16-3A all-district team, but did place three on the first-team all-district list: pitcher Jimmie Harper, utility player Will Jackson, and designated hitter Jaxon Farquhar.

Infielder Barry Decker and outfielder Ty Harper were named second-team all-district, and Peyton Lion, Andon Mata, Carson Mara, Clayton Keith and Bryant Mason were all named honorable mention all-district.

Ryan Wilkerson, a senior at Elysian Fields, was named overall most valuable player. Taber Childs of Harleton was named offensive most valuable player, and newcomers of the year went to Troup’s Ty Lovelady and to Elysian Fields’ Kip Lewis. Tatum’s Reese Milan was named pitcher of the year and Elysian Fields’ Sean Struwe was named coach of the year.

Joining the WR players on the first team were Elysian Fields’ Jackson Illingworth, Noah Grubbs, Logan Presley, and J.D. Ballard; Waskom’s Paxton Keeling; Harleton’s Landon Tovar, Drew Stafford, and Carson Brown; Tatum’s Anthony Kirkpatrick and Garrett Friend; Troup’s Austin Huml; Arp’s Dorian Reyes; and Jefferson’s Dameon Warren.

Others on second-team all-district were Troup’s Colby Turner, Max Cheney, Dylan Meyer and Anthony Salgado; Jefferson’s Bryce Clark, Caden Rutz and Luke McMullen; Harleton’s Braden Hopkins, Blake Weaver and JoJo Clark; Tatum’s Levi Lister and Camron Redwine; Arp’s Kadaylon Williams; Tatum’s Truitt Anthony and Aidan Anthony; and Elysian Fields’ Jace Greenslate and Campbell White.

Joining WR players on the honorable mention list were Waskom’s Dalton Bennett, Victor Villalobos, Baylor Varnell, and Judson Carter; Harleton’s Corbin Sanders; Tatum’s Mason Whiddon and Cayden Benson; Troup’s Bracey Cover, Trevor Padia, and Bradley Adams; and Elysian Fields’ Austin O’Brien, Landon Swank, David Hutson, and Blake Merritt.

Recommended For You


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.