How about those six-and-under KBBA T-ball Red All-Stars?

The guys won their age group’s Dixie Youth Baseball district tournament in Carthage earlier this week, outlasting a team from Henderson Tuesday night to do so. They’re now the second all-star team from the Kilgore Boys Baseball Association to advance to a state tournament this summer – the 14-and-under all-stars did so last weekend in Henderson.

But the T-ball Red all-stars don’t have much time to relax. They’ll jump right back into action next weekend in that state tournament – it begins next Saturday in Center.

Members of this year’s T-ball Red all-stars are are Paladin Baxter, Cullen Burns, Holden DeKoker, Miles Gaut, Ryan Johnson Jr., Waylon Ligon, Cooper Nichols, Griffin Richard, Cody Shead Jr., Colton Strong, Judson Swaim and Brayden Wheeler.

Their coaches are Randy Gaut, Daniel Wheeler, Jeremy Strong and Ryan Johnson.

As mentioned, the 14-U’s had already qualified for their state tournament by winning their district tournament last week. This year’s KBBA 14-U all-stars are Landon Abbatoye, De’Quincy Emond Brown, Rylan Copeland, Raymond Espinoza, Taylor Gibson, Colby Grimes, Dylan Wayne Harris, Kain Hogue, Trent Lopez, Kobie Newlen, Jordan Dwight Pierce, and Bransin Walker.

Coaching the team are Nick Newlen, Jarred Tate, Gene Gibson and Mason Shelton.

The new Whataburger KBBA parks on Commerce Street here in Kilgore are hosting both the 10-U and 12-U district all-star tournaments this weekend. Both tournaments, of course, are double elimination.

The KBBA 10-U all-stars were to play Friday night against Henderson, after the deadline for this print edition of the Kilgore News Herald. If they win, they will advance to the second round to play Nacogdoches National, who had a first-round bye.

A loss to Henderson means Kilgore’s 10-U team will play at 6 p.m. tonight against a team to be determined.

Coaches of the 10-U all-stars this year are Joey Chitwood, Eric Smith and Aaron Chitwood. The 10-U all-stars are Blade Chitwood, Kaeson Clayton, A. Evans, Jaxon Herrin, Braddox Johnson, K. Sanders, Kellen Smith, Ja’Kaivian Snow, Devin Tinney, Davis Tryon, Chase Wilcox and Maddox Wright.

The two teams that meet for the tournament championship are scheduled to do so Sunday night at 6 p.m. If one team is undefeated and loses that game – since it is double elimination – there would need to be another game, and that would be Monday night at 7 p.m.

The 12-U all-stars were to play Friday, too, against Panola White. A win sends Kilgore to a noon start today; a loss on Friday night means the 12-U’s play this morning at 10 a.m. against either Panola Red or Nac American.

As with the 10-U tournament, the championship series for the 12-U tournament will begin Sunday night at 6 p.m., weather permitting, and if another game is needed, it would be Monday at 7 p.m.

This year’s 12-U all-stars are De’Marion Brown, Zevin Dent, Eduardo Espinosa, Kolton Hale, Joseph Hendrickson, Kason Henry, Ethan Kirk, James Mercer, Parker Phillips, Zachery Rowland, Trent Turley and Jaxon Warner. Coaches are Will Hale, Danny Henry and Scott Foster.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.