In it to win it

The T-Ball Red all-stars (pictured) from the Kilgore Boys Baseball Association are playing their state tournament this weekend in Center, the first of.hree KBBA teams to do so. The 10-and-under and 14-and-under will play the next two weekends. (Photo from FACEBOOK)

All three of the Kilgore Boys Baseball Association’s remaining all-star teams will play their state tournaments in Center – and they’re scattered, but one begins this weekend.

Kilgore’s T-ball Red all-stars were to face Cleveland this morning in the early game (8:30 a.m.) in the Dixie Youth Baseball Region I South Division T-Ball State Tournament. It’s a double-elimination, of course, with the title game slated for Monday night.

It’s an eight-team tournament that also includes East Montgomery County, Hudson Maroon, Dayton,, Henderson Red, Livingston, and Center National.

When Kilgore Red plays again depends upon if it wins or loses that first game.

Admission is $10 for adults (a day pass) and $4 for kids (also a day pass).

The T-Ball Red all-stars are Paladin Baxter, Cullen Burns, Holden DeKoker, Miles Gaut, Ryan Johnson Jr., Waylon Ligon, Cooper Nichols, Griffin Richard, Cody Shead Jr., Colton Strong, Judson Swaim and Brayden Wheeler. Their coaches are Randy Gaut, Daniel Wheeler, Jeremy Strong and Ryan Johnson.

Also still playing this summer are Kilgore’s 10-and-under all-stars and the 14-and-under all-stars.

The 10-U KBBA all-stars are Blade Chitwood, Kaeson Clayton, A. Evans, Jaxon Herrin, Braddox Johnson, K. Sanders, Kellen Smith, Ja’Kaivian Snow, Devin Tinney, Davis Tryon, Chase Wilcox and Maddox Wright. Their coaches are Joey Chitwood, Eric Smith and Aaron Chitwood. Their tournament will begin next Saturday, also in Center. They’ll play Splendora at 10 a.m. in a first-round game.

The 10’s finished second in their age group’s tournament, played here last weekend, losing to Bullard in the title game.

The 14-and-under all-stars will play their tournament in Center, too, beginning July 13.

The KBBA 14-U all-stars this year are Landon Abbatoye, De’Quincy Emond Brown, Rylan Copeland, Raymond Espinoza, Taylor Gibson, Colby Grimes, Dylan Wayne Harris, Kain Hogue, Trent Lopez, Kobie Newlen, Jordan Dwight Pierce, and Bransin Walker.

Coaching the 14-U are Nick Newlen, Jarred Tate, Gene Gibson and Mason Shelton.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.