Clay shoot fundraiser is Oct. 19

The annual sporting clay shoot fundraiser for the Kilgore High School Hi-Steppers is Saturday, Oct. 19, at Prairie Creek Sporting Clays. Registration will begin at 8 a.m., with a safety meeting at 8:20, and a shotgun start at 9:30.

Breakfast and lunch are included with registration. To sign up, it’s $100 for an individual shooter, or $400, of course, for a team of four. The entry fee includes the tournament play, the meals and a mulligan for each team member.

Sponsorships are still available, too, ranging from $100 for a hole sponsorship to $1,000 for a title sponsorship, which includes two four-person teams and premium signage for the event.

For more information, call (903) 746-8855 or (903) 806-8899, or e-mail darlakwilliams@yahoo.com.


Camp at KHS on Oct. 19

The Kilgore High School volleyball program will host a camp for girls in kindergarten through eighth grade on Saturday, Oct. 19, at the high school gym, from 9 a.m. until noon.

Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m., and there’s a $20 registration fee, which includes camp instruction, a T-shirt, and a snack. Students registering before Friday, Oct. 11 will receive their T-shirt the day of camp.

Payment can be mailed to the Kilgore High School volleyball booster club, at P.O. Box 3626, Kilgore, TX, 75663. Checks should be made payable to Kilgore High School volleyball booster club. To send a payment using Venmo, use @KVB-Booster.


Who’s the greatest? Voice your opinion

Don’t forget to visit https://www.news-journal.com/contests/ and help us settle once and for all who was the best player to ever suit up in East Texas.

You can vote for one player one time per week for the rest of the regular season. Every player is in the running until then, and we’ll cut the list down to the top five vote-getters for a five-week playoff stretch before unveiling The GOAT on Christmas Day.

This is an online contest only, so please don’t email me your votes.

Currently, John Tyler’s Earl Campbell holds a healthy lead in the voting, followed by Edwin Simmons of Hawkins, Patrick Mahomes of Whitehouse, Jackson Sampson of New Diana and Adrian Peterson of Palestine rounding out the top five.

Edd Hargett of Linden-Kildare moved into the mix and is currently tied with Longview’s Bobby Taylor. Y.A. Tittle of Marshall, Jeff Wilson of Elkhart and Kris Boyd of Gilmer round out the top 10.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.