The 14-and-under all-stars from Kilgore had a fantastic run in their age division’s Dixie Youth Baseball state tournament this week, but it came to an end, unfortunately, on Thursday night.

The 14-U’s from the Kilgore Boys Baseball Association were unbeaten going into the championship series of the tournament, played in its entirety in Center, on Thursday, but lost twice to a team from Lufkin Hudson.

That ended the summer all-star season for the KBBA teams, which had three (in three different age groups) reach state tournaments.

The 14-U all-stars beat Livingston in the first round of their tournament, 13-1; beat Henderson, 4-3; beat Marshall, 12-10; drubbed Carthage/Panola County, 10-0; and then beat a West Rusk team in the semifinals. But Hudson rose to the occasion and dealt Kilgore two losses on Thursday night.

Members of the 14-U’s this year were Landon Abbatoye, De’Quincy Emond Brown, Rylan Copeland, Raymond Espinoza, Taylor Gibson, Colby Grimes, Dylan Wayne Harris, Kain Hogue, Trent Lopez, Kobie Newlen, Jordan Dwight Pierce, and Bransin Walker. Coaching the team: Nick Newlen, Jared Tate, Mason Shelton and Gene Gibson.

In addition to the 14-U’s, the T-Ball Red all-stars and the 10-and-under all-stars both made their state tournaments.

Members of this year’s T-ball Red all-stars were Paladin Baxter, Cullen Burns, Holden DeKoker, Miles Gaut, Ryan Johnson Jr., Waylon Ligon, Cooper Nichols, Griffin Richard, Cody Shead Jr., Colton Strong, Judson Swaim and Brayden Wheeler. Their coaches were Randy Gaut, Daniel Wheeler, Jeremy Strong and Ryan Johnson.

The 10-U’s were coached by Joey Chitwood, Eric Smith and Aaron Chitwood. Playing for the 10-U’s this summer were MR Adamez , Blade Chitwood, Kaeson Clayton, A. Evans, Kason Henry, Jaxon Herrin, Braddox Johnson, K. Sanders, Kellen Smith, Ja’Kaivian Snow, Devin Tinney, Davis Tryon, Chase Wilcox and Maddox Wright. Adamez and Henry were picked to join the team when two players couldn’t finish the tournaments due to prior commitments.

Other teams representing the KBBA this summer in all-star tournaments were the T-Ball White, the 8-and-under Red, the 8-U White, and the 12-U team.

The T-ball White all-stars were Jesus Aranda, Khloie Bell, Patrick Brown, Journi Flesher, Kaeson Garrett, Cameron Jordan, Christopher Kirk, Koltynn McFadin, Kaydon Richardson, Brayden Small, Kortlin Tillman and Ja’Kerayan Williams. They were coached by Leslie Jordan, Bryan Small, Joshua Jordan and Shane Flesher.

The Red 8-U all-stars were Carson Bailey, Kaison Carlson, Cooper Clark, LaMarion Dunn, Brenyn Evans, Chase Foster, Christopher Gossage, Hudson Harris, Luke McKinney, Case Pieper, Cooper Shelton and Kei Warren. Their coaches: Alan Clark, Marty Shelton, Josh McKinney and Tye Gossage.

The White 8-U all-stars were Ian Brown, Blayne Conway, Kaleb Coplin, Weldon Hunt Jr., A’Braylen King, Allison Lara, Bryce Linkinhoker, Machart Nichols, James Oney, Jose Rios, Benson Stagner and Jordan Terrones. Their coaches were Richard Coplin, Barry Conway, Wesley Campbell and Kendrick Brown.

And the 12-U’s were are De’Marion Brown, Zevin Dent, Eduardo Espinosa, Kolton Hale, Joseph Hendrickson, Kason Henry, Ethan Kirk, James Mercer, Parker Phillips, Zachery Rowland, Trent Turley and Jaxon Warner. Coaches were Will Hale, Danny Henry and Scott Foster.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.