They didn’t get to finish their season – no one did – but they were just two games away from starting the playoffs after dominating their district schedules for yet another year.

And now, Kilgore High School’s soccer teams have dominated the District 16-4A all-district selections.

In addition, Sabine, where soccer only dates back a few seasons, showed very well in all-district, as well.

Both 16-4A all-district units were chosen this week by the district’s coaches, which also includes players from Spring Hill, Tatum, Waskom and Gladewater.

Kilgore’s Wanya McIntyre won most valuable player in the boys’ all-district choices, and Emma Taylor, just a junior, was named overall MVP in the girls’ all-district team.

Joining Taylor in 16-4A girls superlatives for KHS was Maria “Cha Cha” Whitaker, a junior who was named defensive most valuable player; senior Sarah Loomis, who was named goalkeeper of the year; and senior Maliyah Holland, who was named co-utility player of the year with Spring Hill sophomore Ana Vizueth.

Joining senior McIntyre on the boys superlatives for 16-4A all-district were defensive MVP Richie Avalos, a junior, as well as Daniel Estrella, a junior who was named goalkeeper of the year.

Both Kilgore coaches – boys head coach Tom Wait and girls coach Todd BonDurant – were named coaches of the year on their respective all-district teams, BonDurant in his first season at KHS.

As for Sabine, Lalo Jaimes, another junior, was named offensive MVP in 16-4A’s boys all-district superlatives. On the girls’ all-district superlatives were junior Sierrah Richter, who was named co-midfielder of the year (with Tatum’s Yuvia Vazquez), and Dahjah Lewis, who was named sophomore of the year.

First-team girls all-district selections were Kilgore’s Laramie Cox (at forward), Sabine’s Greta Taylor (midfielder), Kilgore’s Zoe Craven and Cristina Rosas (midfielders), Kilgore’s Jackie Estrella and Berenice Zarazua (defenders) and Sabine’s Perla Borrego (defender), as well as Tatum’s Ajah Henderson, Waskom’s Liset Quintana and Spring Hill’s Hannah Yoder at forward; Spring Hill’s Maci Plunk, Gladewater’s Makayla Police, and Tatum’s Lexi Luna at midfielder; defenders Karisma Estrada of Tatum, Natalie Fisher of Spring Hill and Jalyne Martinez of Waskom; and keepers Grace Browder of Spring Hill and Hailey McIntire of Tatum.

For KHS, Emma Taylor had 30 goals and Laramie Cox had 20 assists. Sarah Loomis had six shutouts.

Neither Kilgore team could have been caught in the district races – both KHS boys and girls would have wrapped up their respective district titles, and had two games left in the regular season before starting the playoffs.

For Wait’s Bulldogs, Tray Epps had 26 goals, 12 of them in district play, and McIntyre had 24 goals, 11 in district. Overall, the ‘Dogs scored 86 goals and allowed 18. Incredibly, Kilgore’s boys outscored their district opponents 51-0, with the two games remaining.

Epps and Sabine’s Fernando Jaimes were both named first-team forwards, along with Tatum’s Omar Rodriguez and Spring Hill’s Jonathan Alvarez. Also on the first team all-district at midfielder were Kilgore teammates Luis Martinez and Izaiah Ramirez, Sabine’s Sammy Acosta, Spring Hill’s Grant Fisher, and Elian Arreola of Tatum. Efraim Mojica of KHS was named first team as a defender, along with Tatum’s Abraham Maldonado and Hernan Sandoval, Waskom’s Markus Gonzalez, and Spring Hill’s Walter Purdue. Also, Sabine’s Rodolfo Fierros was named first-team goalkeeper.

Sabine coach Wayne Borden commended his Jaimes Brothers connection: Lalo Jaimes, the younger of the two, scored 43 goals and had nine assists, and Fernando, a senior, had 26 goals and seven assists, both among the leaders in Class 4A.

Boys superlatives not involving KHS or Sabine: Nathan Hammett of Spring Hill was named top midfielder; Tatum’s Adrian Olguin was named sophomore of the year; Spring Hill’s Jose De La Cruz was named newcomer of the year; and Waskom’s Hugo Tapia was named utility player of the year. Waskom was also awarded an award for team sportsmanship.

Girls superlatives not involving Kilgore or Sabine: Spring Hill’s Jayme Dowell was named offensive MVP; Karsyn Bowden was named newcomer of the year; and Gladewater won the team sportsmanship award.

Second-team choices for boys all-district at forward: Sabine’s Clayton Simmons, Waskom’s Jose Hernandez, and Spring Hill’s Bryan Vaca; midfielders Camden Childress of Sabine, Galdewater’s Daylon Hernandez; Waskom’s Jose Meza and Spring Hill’s Luis Rabadan; defenders AB Herrera of Kilgore, Ty Francisco of Sabine, and Waskom’s Marci Blas, and Juan Menjivar; and goalkeepers Jose Sandoval of Tatum and Charles Bricket of Waskom.

Honorable mention boys all-district: Kilgore sophomore Adolfo Castillo and seniors Christian Vega and Justin Cedillo, as well as Sabine seniors Noah Childress, Jorge Santiago, and Jose Govea.

Girls second team all-district choices were Sabine’s Peyton Childress, Tatum’s Airam Vazquez and Grecia Bravo of Waskom, all at forward; Kilgore’s Estrella Galvan Vazquez, Sabine’s Hadlee Waggoner, Tatum’s Emily Folds and Gisell Aguirre, and Spring Hill’s Alexis Grubb at midfielder; at defender, Sabine’s Rosa Gaona, Gladewater’s Katelynn Polanco, Spring Hill’s Emilee Schell and Haleigh Yoder, and Tatum’s Keniya Starling and Maritza Quintero; and at keeper, Sabine’s Sunne Faulkner.

Honorable mention all-district for the girls included Kilgore’s Madison Alford, Brianna Alvarez, Alexis Sosa, Ximena Galicia, and Alyssa Richardson, as well as Sabine’s Nayelie Morano, Abi Navarrete and Gisele Flores.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.