Their teams didn’t win district titles, but West Rusk’s Talon Winings and Sabine’s Mikinzi Cantrell were big winners when the District 16-3A all-district basketball teams were released to the East Texas media this week.

Winings was among the superlative winners, taking home the award for offensive most valuable player on the boys side, and Cantrell took home offensive MVP in girls all-district.

Also as a part of the all-district team (as voted on by the district’s coaches) for the boys, Tren Jones of Arp was named overall district most valuable player; Winona’s Cameron Smith was tabbed the defensive player of the year; and Troup’s Bracey Cover and White Oak’s Adrian Mumphrey were named co-newcomers of the year. Arp’s Joe Crawford was named coach of the year.

Sabine’s Savoy Goodwyn was named to the all-district first-team, as were West Rusk’s Myles Foster, Arp’s Zac Mauldin and Jonathan Blackwell; Harmony’s Logan Baker; White Oak’s Carson Bower and Brian Williams; Troup’s Grayson Diggs and Kedrick Frazier; and Winona’s Ashton Smith.

On the second team are Sabine’s Bre’den Ford and David Robinson; Jimmie Harper of West Rusk; Nic Garrett of Winona; Dustin Covington and Gunner Solis of White oak; Troup’s Matthew Castillo; Eli Kates and D.J. Allen of Gladewater; and Arp’s Colton Birdsong.

Jaxon Farquhar, Logan Patterson and Jamal Ford of West Rusk and Sabine’s Breydan Pobuda were all named all-district honorable mention.

In the girls’ all-district team, Cantrell took home the offensive MVP, and White Oak’s Alysa Hall was named overall MVP. Harmony’s Kaylee Clemens was named defensive MVP.

Gladewater’s Ebony Pipkin was named newcomer of the year, and coach of the year honors went to White Oak’s Desiree Hutchins-Boyett.

Sabine players who made first-team all-district were Blair Kaufman, Mercedes Willett and Mallory Furrh. Also making the list were White Oak’s Renee O’Kelley, Payton Palmer and Caitlin Jester; Victoria Perry and Hal’leigh Oliver of Gladewater; and Harmony’s Dacey Dawson and McKinzee Settles.

On the second-team: Sabine’s Halyn McKenzie, West Rusk’s Chloee Tidwell, Harmony’s Raylee Willie and Jenci Seahorn; Gladewater’s Kamryn Floyd and Alexis Boyd; White Oak’s Morgan Benge; Arp’s Emily Jenkins; and Troup’s Hadley Derrick and Maddy Griffin.

Honorable mention for Sabine were Aubree McCann, Maddie Furrh and Hailey Davis, and academic all-district for Sabine: Cantrell, McKenzie, both Mallory and Maddie Furrh, Willett, Kaufman, McCann, Davis, Ally Gresham and Callie Sparks.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.