Snow in New London. Photo submitted by Deb Vondrasek.

The Rusk County Appraisal District says homeowners whose property sustained damage from the recent winter storm may qualify for a new property tax exemption.

The state’s tax code allows a home in an area that has been declared a disaster area that has sustained at least 15 percent damage by that disaster to receive a temporary exemption in property tax.

Property owners must apply for the exemption no later than 105 days after the governor’s disaster declaration, which is May 28, 2021.

Qualified property includes, according to the Rusk County Appraisal District:

  • Tangible business personal property used for income production if the owner filed a 2021 rendition;
  • An improvement to real property, which would include residential buildings (homes), commercial buildings (businesses), industrial buildings (manufacturing), multi-family buildings (apartments), and other real property buildings; and
  • certain manufactured homes used as a dwelling.

The Rusk County appraisal district will determine if a property qualifies and assign a damage assessment rating — and the amount of the exemption is based on that rating and then a proration factor.

For a copy of the application, go to Applications can be mailed to the Rusk County Appraisal District, P.O. Box 7, Henderson, TX 75653 or emailed to

Recommended For You


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.