Kilgore UIL

First Row: Olivia Arp, Carlos Ortiz, Madison Donovan, Melanie Sosa and Estrella Martinez; 2nd Row: Xavier Ortiz, Idaira Castillo, Tara Parson, Carley Mauldin, Kai Tucker, Eryka Hopper, Cannon Gorman and Cason Cox; 3rd Row: Ruben Estrella, Jose Jaime, Nicholas Foster and Ryan Beddingfield; Top: Jacob Caruthers; and Not pictured: Delaney Moses, Rachel Niemeyer, Angelica Chavez, Faith Jones, Olivia Blundell, Janette Chavez, Mazy Martinez, Addison Wood, Payton Berger Jayden Jones, Cerenity Exline, Jessica Sanjuan, Danna Requena, Adrian Herrera, Ashaw Bailey, Carley Dollins, Carmen Vasquez and Natalie Zarate.

Several Kilgore High School students placed at the recent UIL academics District 16 4A Region 2 competition.

Students competed against Lindale, Spring Hill, Chapel Hill, Bullard, Cumberland Academy and Henderson.

Awards included:

  • Current Events — 2nd place team (Cason Cox, Ryan Beddingfield, Canon Gorman, Ruben Estrella)
  • Spelling — 2nd place team (Delaney Moses, Rachel Niemeyer, Jacob Caruthers, Kai Tucker)
  • Accounting — 2nd place team (Melanie Sosa, Estrella Martinez, Angelica Chavez, Tara Parson)

Several students will be advancing tor regionals: Cason Cox, third in current events; Delaney Moses, first in spelling; and Madison Donovan, first in headline writing. Alternates to regionals are: Canon Gorman, fourth in current events; Melanie Sosa, fourth in computer applications; Estrella Martinez, fifth in computer applications; Carlos Ortiz, fourth in news writing; Melanie Sosa, fourth in accounting; Estrella Martinez, fifth in accounting (tie); Angelica Chavez, fifth in accounting (tie); and Faith Jones, fourth in editorial writing.

Top Ten Finishers included: Ruben Estrella, ninth in current events; Janette Chavez, ninth in calculator apps; Mazy Martinez, seventh on computer applications; Olivia Arp, sixth in copy editing; Eryka Hopper, ninth in news writing; Addison Wood, 10th in news writing; Tara Parson, seventh in accounting; Rachel Niemeyer, sixth in spelling; Jacob Caruthers, eighth in spelling; Carly Mauldin, ninth in feature writing; Payton Berger, 10th in feature writing; Jayden Jones, eighth in editorial writing; Rachel Niemeyer, ninth in editorial writing; Delaney Moses, ninth in social studies; Cerenity Exline, sixth in headline writing; Jessica Sanjuan, 10th in mathematics; Madison Donovan, seventh in literary criticism; and Olivia Blundell, eighth in literary criticism,

Additional Members of the Academic Team are Xsavier Ortiz, Danna Requena, Jose Jaime, Adrian Herrera, Ashaw Bailey, Carley Dollins, Nicolas Foster, Carmen Vasquez, Idiara Castillo and Natalie Zarate.

Recommended For You


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.