Skip to main content
A1 A1
Three Kilgore City Council members sworn in for another term
  • Updated

Kilgore City Council members Merlyn Holmes, Missy Merritt and Victor Boyd were sworn in to Places 1, 3, and 4 respectively to serve two-year terms at Tuesday’s council meeting.

City Clerk Rachel Rowe read the oath of office to the candidates, who repeated the oath to be officially sworn in.

All three incumbents ran unopposed in the May election and the city formally canceled it, allowing them to continue their terms of service on the council.

Kilgore Fire Department recognizes three firefighters for service, promotions

Kilgore Fire Department presented awards and recognition to three firefighters at Tuesday’s council meeting.

Fire Chief Mark Henderson presented the firefighters being recognized to council members. Capt. Roger Crues was given a pin and city proclamation for 10 years of service to the department.

Henderson said Crues attended Dallas Fire Academy, worked for the Dallas Fire Department and has an advanced firefighter certification.

{span}Firefighter Josh Haynes{/span} was recognized at the meeting for his promotion to the rank of Captain.

Haynes has a degree in emergency management from West Texas A&M University, graduated from Kilgore College Fire Academy and has worked for KFD since 2014. He is also an Instructor III at Kilgore College Fire Academy.

Firefighter Chris Tucker was recognized for his promotion to the rank of Driver/Engineer.

Henderson said the promotion is significant because, as a driver, Tucker will be responsible for the entire firefighting engine and will replace the captain if they are not on shift.

Tucker attended Kilgore College and its Fire Academy, worked for the Mt. Pleasant Fire Department, has an advanced structural firefighter certification and has Instructor II certification.

Kilgore High School senior parade kicks off Sunday
  • Updated

Kilgore High School seniors will take part in a senior parade on Sunday at 2 p.m. in downtown Kilgore.

Kilgore ISD said other schools had also been invited to participate this year. Seniors participating need to begin lining up at 1:30 p.m., and cars can have a sign with the senior’s name and school listed.

“We can’t wait to celebrate you and your accomplishments. #KilgoreProud #khsclassof2022,” the district said.

The parade check-in is at the corner of East North Street and North Martin Street, with cars staging on North Street and Lawrence Street.

Parade start is at the intersection of Lawrence Street and East Main Street, with the parade traveling west along Main Street until it hits North Kilgore Street. The parade will then turn right onto Kilgore Street and then right on Kay Street, where it will finish at North Martin Street.

The community is invited to come out and celebrate the Class of 2022.

Early voting begins Monday in Republican, Democratic run-off elections

Voting begins Monday in the May 24 Republican and Democratic primary run-off elections for county, state and federal elections.

Candidates in this election did not garner more than 50 percent of the vote in the March primaries. The top two candidates advanced to the run-off election. Voters will choose either the Republican or Democratic candidate who will be running in the November general election (if the opposing political party has a candidate running as well).

Early Voting

In Gregg County, early voting runs May 16-20 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the main voting location at the Gregg County courthouse and from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at branch locations.

The main voting location is the first floor hallway of the Gregg County courthouse, 101 E. Methvin St, Longview.

Branch locations are:

  • Judson Community Center, main room, 1129 FM 1844, Longview
  • Greggton Community Center, meeting room, 3211 W. Marshall Ave,, Longview
  • Meadowbrook Country Club, dining room, 1306 Houston St., Kilgore
  • Elderville Community Center, main room, 10450 Texas 349, Longview

In Rusk County, early voting takes place at the Rusk County Elections Office, 204 N. Main St. in Henderson. Early voting is May 16-20 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Election Day Voting

In Gregg County, Election Day voting takes place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the following locations:

  • Judson Community Center, 1129 FM 1844, Longview
  • Greggton Community Center, 3211 W. Marshall Ave., Longview
  • Gladewater First Methodist Church, 217 W. Quitman Ave., Gladewater,
  • Meadowbrook Country Club, 1306 Houston St., Kilgore
  • Elderville Community Center, 10450 Texas 349, Longview,
  • Stamper Park Resource Center, 502 S. Center St., Longview

In Rusk County, Election Day voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Henderson Civic Center, 1005 Texas 64 West in Henderson; County Barn Pct. 4, 13612 FM 1798 West in Henderson; Mt. Enterprise Community Center, 300 NW. Second Street in Mt. Enterprise; the Sherman R. Smith Community Center, 231 N. Hood in Tatum; the Chandler Street Church of Christ, 2700 Chandler St. in Kilgore; and the New London Community Center, 125 Tyner in New London.

Who’s on the

Republican Ballot?

In Gregg County, Voting Box 4 voters will choose between David Sims and Bonnie Walters for precinct chair; Voting Box 9 voters will choose between Jessica Lowery, Cathy E. Lay and Dawn Barber for precinct chair; and Voting Box 16 voters will choose between Charles Curtis Shockley and Ryan Wolf for precinct chair.

Statewide, George P. Bush and Ken Paxton are vying for the attorney general spot, Dawn Buckingham and Tim Westley are running for land commissioner, and Wayne Christian and Sarah Stogner are running for railroad commissioner.

Who’s on the

Democratic Ballot?

In Gregg County, voters in Precinct 4 will decide between County Commissioner candidates Danny Craig Sr. and Shannon Brown.

In both Gregg and Rusk counties, Jrmar JJ Jefferson and Victor D. Dunn are running for the U.S. Representative District 1 spot. The winner will face Republican and Smith County Judge Nathaniel Moran in the November general election for the seat currently held by U.S. Rep. Louie Gohmert.

Statewide, Joe Jaworski and Rochelle Mercedes Garza are running for the attorney general spot, Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega are running for comptroller, and Jay Kleberg and Sandragrace Martinez are running for land commissioner.