Voters select Spradlin for fourth term

Two candidates saw 606 total votes in 2017 election


Kilgore voters have returned Mayor Ronnie Spradlin to office for the fourth time.

Spradlin garnered 67.99 percent of 606 votes in the Spring 2017 election cycle according to unofficial totals released Saturday evening.

Challenger Victor Boyd, finishing his first year on the dais at City Hall, collected 194 ballots between seven days of early voting and 12 hours of Election Day polling May 6.

The figures released by Kilgore City Clerk Deborah Dane are unofficial until they're canvassed by council members later this month.

Spradlin first joined the council in 2006, appointed to finish an unexpired term. He assumed the mayor's seat in 2009, finishing another unexpired term upon Mayor Joe Parker's resignation.

Unopposed in 2011, Spradlin overcame two challengers in 2013 and another contender in 2015.

All-told, there were 401 early votes counted (cast between April 24 and May 2), two ballots by mail and 203 more decisions on Election Day.

This election cycle, voters cast 295 early decisions for Spradlin, followed by 115 on Election Day. Boyd saw 106 early votes and 88 more May 6. Both mail-in ballots went to Spradlin.

The two candidates will continue to work together on the council said as Spradlin begins another two-year stint, and Boyd completes his first two-year term.


Special Sections