Parties' primary roster in for 2018


By filing deadline Monday, there were 10 Democrats vying for a spot on the governor’s ticket in the March 6 primary.

“You’re probably going to see a run-off,” Gregg County Democratic Party Chair James Cogar quipped Tuesday.

Closer to home, two people filed for the GOP primary for the First Congressional District of Texas –

incumbent Louie Gohmert and challenger Roshin Rowjee – and the winner will face one of two Democratic primary candidates, newcomer Brent Beal or veteran contender Shirley J. McKellar.

District 7 State Rep. Jay Dean is assured a second term with no challenger in the GOP primary and no Democrat in the running for his Texas House seat. Further south, incumbent District 11 Rep. Travis Clardy has no primary challenger, and but in November he’ll face Democrat Alec Johnson, likewise unchallenged in his party’s primary.

In Gregg County, the filing period ended with two names on the GOP ballot for County Clerk as incumbent Connie Wade retires: Dugg Burks and Michelle Gilley will face-off March 6 with no Democrat challenger waiting in November.

As Gregg County Commissioner John Mathis ends his run, Democrats Kasha Williams and Shannon Brown are vying for their party’s berth to face Republican G. Floyd on Election Day.

In another two-way race, for Gregg County District Attorney, incumbent Carl Dorrough and challenger Tom Watson have been squaring off for months – Republican primary voters will choose between the pair in March, the winner assured victory in November.

The three-person race for Gregg County District Clerk formed up early and was unchanged by the end of the filing period: as Barbara Duncan ends her service, Britnie Minor, Jhazmyne Johnson and Trey Hattaway are vying for the post through a GOP primary win.

Republican Rudy Rudolph has no primary challenger for Gregg County Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 – come November, he’ll face the March 6 winner between Democrats James Mathis, Robby Cox and Keeth Johnson.

In uncontested races in Gregg County, neither County Judge Bill Stoudt nor Precinct 2 County Commissioner Darryl Primo have a GOP challenger in the March primary and no Democrats filed for the posts. It’s the same for Republican Tim Wock (307th District Judge). Scott Novy is unchallenged in his bid for outgoing Judge David Brabham’s bench in the 188th District Court.

Judges Kent Phillips and Vincent Dulweber, both Republicans, are unchallenged for re-election to County Courts-at-Law No. 1 and 2, respectively. Justices of the Peace B.H. Jameson (Precinct 1), Tim Bryan (Prec. 2) and Talyna Carlson (Pct. 3) are also assured re-election with no challengers on the GOP primary ticket and no Democrats angling for the November vote.

On the Court of Criminal Appeals, Democrat Ramon Franklin and Republican Dib Waldrip are assured victory in their respective races, places 7 and 8, with no primary challenges and no contenders in November. The same goes for Republican Judge Greg Neeley (12th Court of Appeals, place 3) and Justice Scott Stevens (6th Court of Appeals, Place 2).

Rusk County Republicans with no primary challenger and no Democrat office-seeker include County Judge Joel Hale; County Clerk Trudy McGill; District Clerk Terry Willard; Surveyor Dwayne Miley and County Treasurer Andy Vinson. County Court-at-Law Judge Chad Dean is also unchallenged on the GOP primary (and the November ballot) alongside Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 Jackie Risinger and JP4 Darlene Childress.

After the filings, incumbent County Commissioner Precinct 2 Tammy Pepper McLain will face fellow Republican Robert Kuykendall on the primary ballot, the winner assured election in November. Likewise, as Precinct 4 Commissioner Harold Howell bows out, either contender Bennie Whitworth or Jeff Spencer will be assured the win after the March 6 primary.

There’s a four-way Republican race for Rusk County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1: with no Democrat seeking the office, the next officeholder will be decided between Teresa Jones, Pat McCrory, Bob Overman and Charles Robinson. The same goes for the JP2 race with four names on the GOP primary: Angela Bell, Bo Pepper, Cindy Redmond and William Williams. Justice of the Peace Precinct 5 has three GOP contenders (and no Democrats) including Jana Enloe, Jeffery Frey and Sharon Florey.


Special Sections