Kilgore High School commencement exercises set May 25 at football stadium


The 2018 senior class of Kilgore High School will receive their diplomas on Friday, May 25, before moving on to pursue careers or further education. The graduation ceremony is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. at R.E. Saint John Memorial Stadium, located at 600 Harris St. in Kilgore. In the event of bad weather, the graduation ceremony will be held at the Longview High School Lobo Coliseum, located at 201 E Tomlinson Pkwy in Longview.

The top 10 students in the senior class have been recognized for their outstanding performance during their academic careers at KHS.

Bailey Green was named the valedictorian of her graduating class. She plans to attend college at UT Dallas, where she will study psychology. During her time at KHS, Green served as the National Honor Society President, was recognized as a National Merit Scholar and qualified for UIL journalism competitions in her sophomore and senior years.

Mikaila Williams is the salutatorian for the 2017-18 school year. She will also attend UT Dallas, where she plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree in arts, technology and emerging communications. In her senior year, Williams competed at the state level in UIL in the category of Editorial Writing, she was a member of the National Honor Society and won second place in a Four-Way Speech contest at a Rotary Youth Leadership Awards event in her junior year.

Others in the KHS Top 10 list are:

#3. Austin Adams, who plans to study engineering at Texas A&M.

#4. Addison Phillips, who will pursue a bachelor’s in science with a minor in music at Texas A&M.

#5. Cameron Stephens, who will study biomedical engineering at UT Dallas.

#6. Juan Lira, who plans to study biology on the pre-med track at UT Austin.

#7. Ankitpreet Chahal, who plans to study Information Technology at Texas Tech University.

#8. Kara McKinnon, who will study allied health at Texas A&M.

#9. Pooja Patel, who plans to study biology at UT Austin.

#10. Graham Tyra, who will study aerospace engineering at Oklahoma State University.


Special Sections