Coterie enjoys 'five-star' program


The Coterie Club of Kilgore met February 9 in the parlor of the First Presbyterian Church. Members were greeted by hostess Sue Lynn Florio. Co-hostesses Jean McLaurin and India Ann Stroope served a delicious assortment of refreshments.

The program was given by Carolyn Martin, titled “Five Stars.” The five-star rank for the American military was created during World War II. The US Army had five five-star generals. They were General George C. Marshall, General Dwight David Eisenhower, General Douglas MacArthur, General Henry H. Arnold and General Omar Bradly who was promoted in 1950.

General George Washington was promoted to a five-star general and was designated as General of the Armies and is considered the highest ranking general ever in the U.S. Army. General George Pershing who led our army during WWI was also promoted to the rank of five star general.

Mrs. Martin targeted the life of General George C. Marshall as one of the most decorated military leaders in American history. Named chief of staff when World War II began in 1939, Marshall was responsible for exponentially increasing the size of the U.S. Army, and he helped devise Operation Overlord in 1944.

After the war, he came out of retirement to serve as President Harry Truman’s secretary of state. His economic recovery program for Europe became known as the Marshall Plan, and he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953. George Marshall remains one of the most respected soldiers in American history.

Mrs. Martin described herself as an “Army brat’ growing up and shared memories about one of her childhood best friends. This friend, to her surprise, later was discovered to be the granddaughter of George Marshall whom she had the privilege of meeting in his own home.

President Jan Mobley called the business meeting to order. The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved by secretary, Dianne Miller. Cissy Covnet gave the treasurer’s report. The Club Collect was read by Carla Nault.

The next meeting will be at the home of Jo Hancock with co-hostess Cynthia Adams. The program will be by the Yearbook and Program committee composed of Cristi Langley, Francye Phillips and India Stroope.


Special Sections