Bulldogs dominate all-district picks

Cedillo, Hinojos, Wait among honors; Sabine’s Jaimes as well


When you dominate your district year-in and year-out, you tend to roll up a few honors, deservedly so.

Kilgore, who seems to win its district championship every year like clockwork, did so again in 2019 and, as a result, fittingly earned many awards on the District 16-4A All-District team announced this week.

Also, Sabine High School, who had a double-digit win season, earned its first-ever playoff berth and won a playoff game, was recognized appropriately.

Kilgore senior Raul Cedillo, who scored 15 goals this season, was named the 16-4A overall most valuable player, and teammate Brandyn Hinojos, also a senior, was named the district’s offensive player of the year.

In addition, Kilgore’s Trey Epps and Sabine’s Eduardo Jaimes were named co-sophomores of the year, and Kilgore coach Tom Wait, in his second season, was named coach of the year.

The first team boasted Kilgore’s Epps at forward, Wayna McIntyre and Elivan Torres at midfielder, and Richie Avalos at defender. Kilgore’s second-team selections were Maicol Pena at midfielder and Daniel Sifford and Efrain Mojica at defender.

Honorable mention all-district for the Bulldogs: keepers Karson Offerding and Daniel Estrella, Luis Martinez, Erick Gonzalez and Izaiah Ramirez.

Sabine’s first-team selections were Fernando Jaimes at forward; Sammy Acosta at midfielder; and Mauricio Vega at defender.

On the second-team for Sabine: forward Caden Strickhausen, midfielder Clayton Simmons, defender Edgar Magdaleno, and keeper Pedro Alamilla. Honorable mentions for the Cardinals were Eric Cazares, Eduardo Jaimes, Eddie Rosas, and Ty Francisco.

Other superlatives on the all-district team were Braden Herman of Spring Hill winning defensive MVP and Manuel Flores of the Panthers taking home the midfielder of the year; Tatum’s Christian Hernandez winning keeper of the year; Gladewater’s Justice Hassek and Spring Hill’s Nathan Hammett winning utility player(s) of the year; and newcomer of the year going to Waskom’s Dinky Stafford.

All-district teams are picked by the coaches in the district.


Special Sections